Rescue Files from the Network Recycle Bin

By Eric Geier | Posted May 01, 2009

As you may have already discovered, when you delete files from shares on your network they really vanish. Unlike with local files, they are permanently deleted instead of being sent to the Recycle Bin where you can recover them if needed. Obviously, this may become a huge problem if you accidentally delete that important work or school document. Instead of “My dog ate my homework!” you’d explain “My network ate my homework!”.

Though Microsoft and Windows won’t help you with this seemingly simple but potentially disastrous networking issue, you can use third-party programs. This is an example of just how much—or little—technology and computers are developed with the human in mind. It seems like Microsoft and other OS developers could have fixed the issue long ago—Vista release candidates actually included a network recycle bin feature, but were removed in the final releases. Nevertheless, we’ll figure out how to get around the problem, so you can save your homework excuses for times you really need it.

Read the full story

Do you have a comment or question about this article or other small business topics in general? Speak out in the SmallBusinessComputing.com Forums. Join the discussion today!


Comment and Contribute


     

    Get free tips, news and advice on how to make technology work harder for your business.

    Submit
    Learn more
     
    You have successfuly registered to
    Enterprise Apps Daily Newsletter
    Thanks for your registration, follow us on our social networks to keep up-to-date